Sep 04

Let out property claim entire interest paid on home loan

  I am a 42-year-old IT professional. I intend to work until I turn 65. My wife is a home-maker. My daughter is 12 and son, eight. I plan to sell my mutual funds and stocks to make pre-payment and reduce my EMI to match my rental income of ?15,000. Please advise. Ganapathy You can …

Continue reading »

Aug 29

Be reasonable with financial goal target.

august-29

  I am 40, working in a PSU. My wife is a homemaker. My elder son is in class 6 and the younger one in class 1. I am expecting salary hikes from 2017. I wish to enrol my son into IIT, for which I wish to spend for coaching. Do suggest investment options to …

Continue reading »

Aug 17

If you are in transferable job buy land and construct latter.

August 17, 2014:   I am 31 and work for a public sector bank. My wife is a homemaker and my daughter is two. The job is transferable and my bank provides me with leased accommodation at the place of posting. I am eligible for a housing loan of ?20 lakh at simple interest rate …

Continue reading »

Aug 07

With Limited surplus prioritise the goals

  I am 40, working in an engineering company. My wife works in the private sector. My son is 11 and my daughter five. We are covered under group health insurance. Both of us have endowment cover for ?5 lakh. My EPF balance is ?3 lakh and that of my wife’s is ?2 lakh. Our …

Continue reading »

Jul 24

At retirement prefer flat over house.

  July 24, 2016:   I am 45. I am working in a Gulf country. My father 80, my only dependant, lives on his own in India. I wish to buy a house in 2017 and plan to settle in India by 2026. Should I buy a flat or construct a house? Please suggest suitable …

Continue reading »

Jul 11

Expenses overshoot income, Dig your retirement corpus

Screenshot01

                         My dad retires in November 2016 and will live in our own house in Jharkand. My parents’ medical expense is ?5,000 per month. They have separate health cover for ?6 lakh with premium of ?23,000. Both have health issues. How do I manage …

Continue reading »

Jul 04

For Post Graduation avail education loan

cash_flow_2918824f

              I am 43 and am employed with an MNC. My wife (40) is a home-maker. We have a three-year-old son. I have a group health cover for ?6 lakh. I invest only in equity mutual funds, my fund balance is ?6 lakh. Can I reach my goal with …

Continue reading »

Jun 20

Hold financial assets for easy liquidity.

  I am 41, a spinster working in the private sector. My parents, 70 and 64, are my financial dependents. We live in our own house in Chennai. I have the employer medical cover. For my parents I have taken a health cover for ?3 lakh. I may not be able to monitor the plots …

Continue reading »

May 23

Donot block your money just for a over draft.

  I am 38, self-employed, and my wife, 36, is a home-maker. We have two sons aged 12 and 9. My parents are financially dependent. I have a health cover for ?10 lakh and ?5 lakh for my parents, and term insurance for ?1.5 crore. Most of my investments are in fixed deposits (?50 lakh), …

Continue reading »

Mar 20

Avail education loan from PSU bank.

BL 1

          I am 50 and my wife is 43. We are both self-employed. I have a 22-year-old daughter and a son who is 15. My father is dependent on me. My daughter plans to do MBA. Is it a good idea to take a bank loan? I have medical cover for …

Continue reading »

Older posts «

» Newer posts